Results of the 2017-2018 Competition


The International SSP Student Project Competition is a wordlwide student research and engineering research/paper competition which focuses on new, meaningful and credible student research projects in the broad field of Space Solar Power.

The competition is organized by SPACE Canada, the International Astronautical Federation (IAF) Power Committee, Commission III of the International Academy of Astronautics (IAA), the National Space Society (NSS) International Space Development Conference (ISDC) SSP Track, and the IAF Space Generation Advisory Council (SGAC).

2017-2018 Winner - Hassan Nisar, Chukwuma Odigwe | Supervisor: Dr. Paul Jaffe
University of Maryland College Park, United States

Development of an RFID System for SPS-ALPHA - Paper | Presentation

2017-2018 Runner Up - Rui Wang, Feng Liu, Long Xie, Jia-ziZhao, Chao Gao | Supervisor: Xian-Long Meng, Ya-song Sun
School of Power and Energy, Northwestern Polytechnical University, China

New optimization method for SPS-ALPHA Mark-? based on improved ACO algorithm - Paper | Presentation
2018 competition

2018 competition

2018 competition

Learn more about The International Space Solar Power Student Project Competition

See results of the 2022-2023 competition
See results of the 2021-2022 competition
See results of the 2020-2021 competition
See results of the 2019-2020 competition
See results of the 2018-2019 competition
See results of the 2017-2018 competition
See results of the 2016-2017 competition