Biography - Stephen Strauss

pic_strauss not definedStephen Strauss

Science Writer and Columnist

Stephen Strauss is one of Canada’s premier science writers and columnists with over 28 years dedicated to his field. He has served as Editor of the Montreal Star, feature writer, science writer, columnist and editorial writer for The Globe and Mail, science columnist for and has freelanced several pieces such as for Air Canada’s EnRoute Magazine, The Globe and Mail, The Times Higher Education Supplement, The New Scientist, the Canadian Medical Association Journal, The Canadian Institute of Advanced Research, the Toronto Star, Reader’s Digest and Nature Biotechnology. Strauss was Honorary Fellow at Bethune College, York University and was a contributing writer to MIT’s Technology Review Magazine. Other notable contributions include: Board of Directors Canadian Science Writers Association, Advisor to OEC panel on chemicals in the environment, Health Canada Advisory Panel for the Chief Scientist, Board of Director for CANSTATS, Board of Directors, Scientists in Schools, Expert Panel, Choosing New Entrants into the Canadian Science and Engineering Hall of Fame, Writer in Residence, Arts and Science Program, McMaster University.

Symposium Panelists & Presentations
Quirks & Quarks Interviews

Quirks & Quarks

Listen to CBC Radio’s “Quirks and Quarks“ interviews from the SPACE Canada Symposium

Symposium Sponsors

Space Canada gratefully
acknowledges the support of
these progressive organizations:
COM DEV International
COM DEV International

Symposium Speakers

George Dietrich, President, SPACE Canada
John Mankins, CO-Chair, IAA Study Group
Nobuyuki Kaya, CO-Chair, IAA Study Group

International Policy Forum
Bob McDonald, Master of Ceremonies
Hon. John Milloy,
Marc Garneau

Dan Fortin, Key Note Speaker

PANEL: Space-Based Solutions to Earth-Bound Problems
Richard Peltier
Bryan Erb
Wael Almazeedi

PANEL: From Space Research to Commercialization
Ted Hewitt
Kieran Carroll
Robert Zee

PRESENTATION: Entrepreneurs in Space
Bob Richards

PANEL: Space Policy
John Siebert
Ram Jakhu

MEDIA PANEL: Political Will and
Public Perception

Peter Calamai
Stephen Strauss
Iain Carson
Alanna Mitchell